Love Lies Dying

Couldn’t speak to you
It was so uncomfortable
The honest me
Felt like I had to wear a shield of silence

You were dying
My heart was breaking
I love life
Every last ounce that can be squeezed out of it

God
I felt like a fool
‘You look good’
WTFudge-e-o

I want to cringe
When someone tells me this
When I am ill
‘Good’ is insulting

Did I insult you
No, I think not
Admiring
That is the word for so much

My intention for you
Was in my game of charades
Backhoe
A man of doing

You like the small piece of maple I gave you
Smelling it
A sign
Of a real woodsman

When I saw you
Sitting there
It made me smile
Envisioning the slideshow that is your life

Sitting up
Before us
Whispering
I see how love is melding

Fusing into the human nature
Of those you leave behind
You are becoming a part of them
As you slowly slip away

You may rest as you leave
Knowing you are chiseled well
Into the souls of those who remain
Your time together carefully polished

Love lies dying
In a flash, the news arrives
Seven weeks
From diagnosis to dead

How humbling
Is your waking breaths on this earth
How precious
Is your forever-after.


Leave a comment